CS/HB 1335 2015

A bill to be entitled

1 2 3 4 5 6 the authority; providing an effective date. 7 8 9 Section 1. 10

11

12

13

14 15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

An act relating to the Emergency Medical Services Authority, Pinellas County; amending chapter 80-585, Laws of Florida, as amended; revising membership and terms of office of members of the governing body of

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

Section 1 of chapter 80-585, Laws of Florida, as amended by chapter 2001-305, Laws of Florida, is amended to read:

Section 1. (1) There is hereby created a countywide Emergency Medical Services Authority, hereinafter called the "authority." The governing body of the authority and its membership shall consist of 11 members, to be selected and serve as follows: be the Board of County Commissioners of Pinellas County. Four members of the authority shall constitute a quorum.

- (a) One member shall be appointed by the municipal governing body of the City of Clearwater.
- (b) One member shall be appointed by the combined municipal governing bodies of the Cities of Largo, Belleair Bluffs, Belleair, Belleair Beach, and Belleair Shores.
- (c) One member shall be appointed by the City Council of the City of St. Petersburg.
 - (d) One member shall be appointed by the combined

Page 1 of 3

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

CS/HB 1335 2015

municipal governing bodies of the Cities of Oldsmar, Safety Harbor, Dunedin, and Tarpon Springs.

- (e) One member shall be appointed by the combined municipal governing bodies of the Cities of Seminole, Indian Rocks Beach, Indian Shores, North Redington Beach, Redington Shores, Redington Beach, and Pinellas Suncoast Fire and Rescue District.
- (f) One member shall be appointed by the combined municipal governing bodies of the Cities of Gulfport, South Pasadena, Treasure Island, St. Pete Beach, and Madeira Beach.
- (g) One member shall be appointed by the combined municipal governing bodies of the City of Pinellas Park and the Town of Kenneth City.
- (h) Three members shall be appointed by the Board of County Commissioners of Pinellas County.
- (i) One member shall be appointed by the combined governing bodies of the East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control

 District, Lealman Special Fire Control District, and Palm Harbor

 Special Fire Control and Rescue District.
- (2) (a) After expiration of the term of each member of the governing body of the authority, the vacancy shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment. Each appointed member shall hold office until his or her successor is appointed. A vacancy occurring during a term shall be filled only for the balance of the unexpired term. A selection to fill a vacancy or select a successor shall be made within 60 days

CS/HB 1335 2015

after the occurrence of the vacancy or before expiration of the term, whichever is applicable. If a selection is not made as provided by this subsection, the Board of County Commissioners of Pinellas County shall appoint an eligible person to the authority with like effect as if the selection were made by a municipality or group of municipalities, or group of governing bodies.

- (b) The Chairperson of the Emergency Medical Services
 Advisory Council shall be an ex officio member of the authority
 without voting privileges. The authority shall keep a record of
 its transactions, resolutions, findings, determinations,
 recommendations and orders, which record shall be a public
 record.
- (3) Each member shall be appointed for a 2-year term. Any member of the authority is eligible for reappointment, except that the member may not serve more than three consecutive terms. Authority members shall be sworn into office at the first regularly scheduled meeting after their appointment. Each member shall remain in office until his or her successor is appointed and assumes the duties of the position.
 - Section 2. This act shall take effect upon becoming a law.