HR 9001 2014

House Resolution

A resolution congratulating the Florida State University Football Team for winning the 2014 Vizio BCS National Championship Game.

WHEREAS, having completed the 2012 season with a 12-2 record, and with 11 players from that team selected in the 2013 National Football League Draft, the Florida State University Football Team, led by Head Coach Jimbo Fisher, began the 2013 season ranked 11th in The Associated Press Preseason Poll, and

WHEREAS, following the 37-7 defeat of the University of Florida Gators to end the 2013 regular season with a flawless record of 12-0, the Florida State University Football Team defeated then-20th-ranked Duke University 45-7 in the Atlantic Coast Conference Championship game on December 7, 2013, giving the Seminoles their 14th Atlantic Coast Conference Championship, and

WHEREAS, under Head Coach Jimbo Fisher and his coaching staff, and Director of Athletics Stan Wilcox, the top-ranked Florida State Seminoles players formed a championship team, earning a 34-31 victory over second-ranked Auburn University in the 2014 Vizio BCS National Championship Game on January 6, 2014, in Pasadena, California, and

WHEREAS, together with the 1950 and 1999 Florida State Seminoles Football Teams that concluded their seasons with HR 9001 2014

undefeated records, the Florida State Seminoles' 14-0 record in 2013-2014 marks the third perfect season in school history, and

WHEREAS, outscoring their opponents by a total of 723 to 170 points, the Florida State Seminoles established a single-season Football Bowl Subdivision scoring record, surpassing the previous high of 716 set by the Oklahoma Sooners in 2008, and

WHEREAS, several Seminoles players were recognized for their individual performances, including kicker Roberto Aguayo being awarded the Lou Groza Award; center Bryan Stork being awarded the Rimington Trophy; and quarterback Jameis Winston being awarded the Heisman Trophy, Walter Camp Player of the Year, Davey O'Brien Award, and The Associated Press player of the year, and

WHEREAS, following the 29 Seminoles football players before them, cornerback Lamarcus Joyner, center Bryan Stork, and quarterback Jameis Winston were all named consensus All-Americans, and

WHEREAS, with the 2014 BCS National Championship win, Florida State University earned its third national football title, having claimed national championships in both 1993 and 1999, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

HR 9001 2014

That the Florida State University Seminoles are hereby recognized and congratulated for capturing the 2014 BCS National Championship after a remarkable undefeated season.

51

52

53

54

55

56

57

5859

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to the President of Florida State University, Dr. Eric J. Barron, Director of Athletics Stan Wilcox, Head Coach Jimbo Fisher, and each assistant coach and member of the Florida State Seminoles Football Team as a tangible token of the sentiments expressed herein.